Western Cape Business News

Send  Share  RSS  Twitter  17 Apr 2009



Recent Western Cape Business News

Western Cape MEC for Finance, Economic Development and Tourism, Garth Strachan has announced a new board for Cape Town Routes Unlimited (CTRU).  

The Board will continue to be chaired by leading hospitality expert and former chairman of Sun International, Peter Bacon.  MEC Strachan said that the 13 appointees to the 15-member board of CTRU would take effect from April 23, 2009.

“The current board’s term expires on April 22 and in terms of the law, I had to appoint a new board by April 23,” he said. "The recent public process that included extensive advertising inviting nominations to the board of CTRU drew the cream of the crop in the tourism industry.”

The new board will be chaired by Peter Bacon with Bryan Slingers as the vice-chairperson.

Peter Bacon is the former CEO and chairperson of the board of Sun International. Bryan Slingers was chairperson of Ogilvy Cape and now chairs the Bester Burke Slingers group.

Other members of the board appointed by Strachan are:

  • Esa Yacoob is a self-made successful black businessperson running several tourism businesses at the V&A Waterfront.

  • Phillip Couvaras is the chairperson of Federated Hospitality Association of South Africa Cape (Fedhasa).

  • Vernon Kirsten is the immediate past chair the Southern Africa Tourism Services Association (Satsa) Western Cape.

  • Tembi Kunene is the CEO of the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa.

  • Deon Cloete is the general manager of the Airports Company of South Africa, (Acsa) Cape Town International Airport.

  • Annemie Liebenberg is the marketing manager: tourism and customer service at the V&A Waterfront.

  • Mangaliso Mdlalo is the chair of Business Western Cape.  

  • Labeeqah Schuurman heads the tourism division in the Provincial Department of Economic Development and Tourism.

  • CTRU CEO Calvyn Gilfellan is also a member of the board.

Strachan also announced that SALGA had named its chairperson, councillor Stephen de Vries of the Eden District Municipality, and Councillor Chrissie Brink of the Cape Winelands District Municipality, as its representatives on the board.
The executive mayor of Cape Town may nominate the two remaining members. However, the mayor removed her representatives from the board when the City withdrew its funding from CTRU at the end of June 2008.

“The calibre of this board is a powerful endorsement by business as well as big and small tourism firms on the value of having a single international marketer of Cape Town and the Western Cape as a tourism destination,” said Strachan.

"The fact that organisations such as Fedhasa, Satsa, Acsa, the Tourism Grading Council, Business Western Cape affiliates and the V&A Waterfront nominated top individuals should be considered to be a vote of no-confidence in the stance taken by Mayor Helen Zille when she opted to withdraw City funding from CTRU and to go it alone,” Strachan added.

"Despite a massive R10-million plus increase in the funding to CTRU by the Provincial Government, we still do not have enough to fully exploit the once-in-a-generation marketing opportunity presented by the 2010 FIFA World Cup. We need all the funding available marshalled behind a single marketing plan for Cape Town and the Western Cape as a destination. We simply cannot afford the wasteful duplication of our international marketing efforts."

Strachan added that the term of the current two-year term of the board ends on April 22, 2009. The Auditor General indicated two years ago that public entities should not be left without boards.


Online Foreign Exchange
Foreign Exchange


Fax 2 Email



Online Casino


Shop Online

Study IT
Study IT Online

Web design
Web Design


Work from Home
Company News


© 2020 All rights reserved.

Daily Newsletter Subscription


Subscribe to the Western Cape Business News Daily News and information email (it's free).

Thank You
Your email address has been added.

Email Address: